Colby Book Prize Winners

The Research Society for Victorian Periodicals is pleased to announce the winners of the Robert and Vineta Colby Scholarly Book Prize in 2013, awarded to the scholarly books that most advance the understanding of the nineteenth-century British newspaper or periodical press.

The joint winners are:

David Latane, William Maginn and the British Press (Ashgate)

Fionnuala Dillane, Before George Eliot. Marian Evans and the Periodical Press (Cambridge UP)

Runner up: John Stokes and Mark Turner, eds. Journalism, I and II, vols vi and vii. The Complete Works of Oscar Wilde General Ed: Ian Small. (Oxford UP)

The winners receive a monetary award, and are invited to speak at the upcoming RSVP conference at the University of Delaware in Sept 2014. The panel this year consisted of Prof Ann Ardis, Prof Bill Bell, Prof Martin Hewitt, and Dr Deborah Mutch. Chair = Laurel Brake.

Comments are closed.