Colby Book Prize Winners

The Research Society for Victorian Periodicals is pleased to announce the winners of the Robert and Vineta Colby Scholarly Book Prize in 2013, awarded to the scholarly books that most advance the understanding of the nineteenth-century British newspaper or periodical press.

The joint winners are:

David Latane, William Maginn and the British Press (Ashgate)

Fionnuala Dillane, Before George Eliot. Marian Evans and the Periodical Press (Cambridge UP)

Runner up: John Stokes and Mark Turner, eds. Journalism, I and II, vols vi and vii. The Complete Works of Oscar Wilde General Ed: Ian Small. (Oxford UP)

The winners receive a monetary award, and are invited to speak at the upcoming RSVP conference at the University of Delaware in Sept 2014. The panel this year consisted of Prof Ann Ardis, Prof Bill Bell, Prof Martin Hewitt, and Dr Deborah Mutch. Chair = Laurel Brake.

VanArsdel Prize 2014

Rosemary_VanArsdel-400The VanArsdel Prize is awarded annually to the best graduate student essay investigating Victorian periodicals and newspapers. The prize was established in 1990 to honor Rosemary VanArsdel (at left), a founding member of RSVP whose groundbreaking research continues to shape the field of nineteenth-century periodical studies. The deadline for next year’s award competition is May 1, 2014. For further information, please see our page under the Awards heading.

New Curran Index

A new edition of the Curran Index by Gary Simons and the late Eileen Curran has been published. See our Curran Index page under the Research menu item for details. For subsequent editions, scholars are encouraged to contribute their own discoveries about the authorship of stories, poems, and articles in the Victorian press; contact Dr. Simons for details.

Curran Fellowship

RSVP is pleased to announce the competition for the sixth annual Curran Fellowship, a set of travel and research grants intended to aid scholars studying 19th-century British magazines and newspapers in making use of primary print and archival sources. The Curran Fellowship is made possible through the generosity of the late Eileen Curran, Professor Emerita of English, Colby College, and inspired by her pioneering research on Victorian periodicals. The deadline for applications is October 21. The full call for applications can be found here, with further guidelines here.