2014 VanArsdel Award

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2014 VanArsdel Award: Ann Hale, a doctoral student at the University of Greenwich. Her essay, “W. T. Stead and Participatory Reader Networks in The Link and The Review of Reviews,” will appear in the Spring 2015 issue of Victorian Periodicals Review. Congratulations!

For more information about the VanArsdel Award, see http://www.rs4vp.org/prizes.html. A subscription to VPR, which includes membership in the Research Society for Victorian Periodicals, is only $35 ($30 for students): https://www.press.jhu.edu/cgi-bin/order.cgi?oc_id=1707.

RSVP 2014: Places, Spaces, and the Victorian Periodical Press


crystalpalaceThe 2014 Research Society for Victorian Periodicals conference will be held at the University of Delaware’s Wilmington campus on September 12 and 13. The conference theme is “Places, Spaces and the Victorian Periodical Press.” In addition to a wide range of panels, the program will include the Michael Wolff lecture, to be given this year by Lorraine Janzen Kooistra of Ryerson University. Professor Kooistra, who also serves as Co-Director, Centre for Digital Humanities at Ryerson, will speak on the subject “Reading between the Lines of Time and Space: Remediation and the Illustrated Periodical.” The conference will also feature a presentation by the winner of the 2014 Robert and Vineta Colby Scholarly Book Prize.

Conference website now available: http://sites.udel.edu/rsvp2014/

Call for Papers

Call For Papers Readers, Purveyors, Creators, and Users: Studying Victorian Print Consumption in 2014

16-17 June 2014, Moore Institute for Research in the Humanities and Social Studies, National University of Ireland, Galway

Deadline for Proposals: 16 April 2014.

Plenary speakers: Dr Stephen Colclough, Bangor University and Dr Niall Ó Ciosáin, National University of Ireland, Galway.

Full CFP available here

Colby Book Prize Winners

The Research Society for Victorian Periodicals is pleased to announce the winners of the Robert and Vineta Colby Scholarly Book Prize in 2013, awarded to the scholarly books that most advance the understanding of the nineteenth-century British newspaper or periodical press.

The joint winners are:

David Latane, William Maginn and the British Press (Ashgate)

Fionnuala Dillane, Before George Eliot. Marian Evans and the Periodical Press (Cambridge UP)

Runner up: John Stokes and Mark Turner, eds. Journalism, I and II, vols vi and vii. The Complete Works of Oscar Wilde General Ed: Ian Small. (Oxford UP)

The winners receive a monetary award, and are invited to speak at the upcoming RSVP conference at the University of Delaware in Sept 2014. The panel this year consisted of Prof Ann Ardis, Prof Bill Bell, Prof Martin Hewitt, and Dr Deborah Mutch. Chair = Laurel Brake.