The Gale Dissertation Research Fellowship in Nineteenth-Century Media

The Research Society for Victorian Periodicals (RSVP) is pleased to announce the eighth annual Gale Dissertation Research Fellowship, made possible by the generosity of publisher Gale, part of Cengage Learning, in support of dissertation research that makes substantial use of full-text digitized collections of 19th-century British magazines and newspapers. A prize of $1500 will be awarded, together with one year’s passworded subscription to selected digital collections from Gale, including 19th Century UK Periodicals and 19th Century British Library Newspapers.


This year’s winner: RSVP is delighted to announce that the Gale Dissertation Research Fellowship for research to be undertaken in 2017 has been awarded to Nora Moroney a PhD Candidate in the School of English at Trinity College Dublin. A synopsis of Nora’s project can be found below:

The Contribution of Irish Writers to British Periodicals in the 1890s

This project examines the dynamics of Irish writers’ contributions to the British periodical press of the 1890s, in particular those journals digitised in the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals. It focuses on the canonical elision of successful figures in London publishing circles, and how they represented or developed notions of ‘Irishness’ in major literary journals such as the Fortnightly Review, Nineteenth Century and Macmillan’s Magazine. It is explicitly indebted to the Wellesley Index – a uniquely helpful resource for this project, as it allows for the collation of articles by author, subject matter or journal title.

Drawing on the tools and methodology of periodical criticism, it situates each article within its specific material and cultural context and utilises a range of primary sources (editorial correspondence, personal papers, and article drafts) to discern any underlying ideology in relation to the journals. The project is therefore transnational in nature and, in its assessment of the importance of historiography in literary production, uniquely interdisciplinary in approach.


Previous winners of the Gale Dissertation Fellowship are:

  • 2016: Amelia T. Joulain-Jay (Lancaster University)
  • 2015: Linda Friday (Edge Hill University)
  • 2014: Lauren Boasso (Virginia Commonwealth University)
  • 2013: Helena Goodwyn (Queen Mary, University of London)
  • 2012: Liam Young (University of Alberta)
  • 2011: Adam Crymble (King’s College London)
  • 2010: Bob Nicholson (Manchester University)